Neovolt BW-BAT-4.8S review
Australian model: BW-BAT-4.8S
The Australian BW-BAT-4.8S is a battery module that needs a compatible Bytewatt inverter. This review covers one module; Neovolt's 9.6P and 10.1P batteries are different products.
Manufacturer sources checked 20 Sep 2026.
Our verdict
A small modular option for a compatible Bytewatt system, but confirm usable capacity, expansion limits and current approval before accepting a quote.
- Good fit for
- A household considering a modest amount of storage as part of a matched Bytewatt inverter installation.
- Consider another option if
- You need a battery with its own AC inverter, or a supplier cannot resolve the exact model's documentation and approval status.

At a glance
- Usable capacity
- 4.6 kWh
- AU datasheet figure for one module. The V02 manual instead gives 4.5 kWh usable; confirm the supplied specification.
- Source
- Household AC output
- Depends on inverter
- A separate compatible inverter is required. The module's 4.8 kW battery rating is not a household AC or backup guarantee.
- Source
- Warranty
- 10 years; use limits apply
- 70% usable-capacity promise. Named household uses have unlimited cycles; other applications have an 18.24 MWh operating limit.
- Source
- Expansion
- Confirm module limit
- The battery sheet allows six in series; the matching single-phase system sheet says four. Obtain the limit for your inverter.
- Source
Strengths
- A single LFP module provides a small starting capacity, with larger series arrangements documented.
- The warranty explicitly includes solar self-consumption, time-of-use shifting and backup without a cycle cap.
Limitations
- Official documents disagree on usable capacity and the maximum module count for the matching single-phase system.
- Current approval of 4.8S was not verified. A separate September 2026 suspension names 9.6P models; it does not establish 4.8S eligibility.
System essentials
One BW-BAT-4.8S module
SourceThe reviewed battery has 4.8 kWh nominal capacity. The inverter is separate; a larger battery arrangement needs its own configuration check.
Compatible Bytewatt inverter
SourceThe manual names specific single-phase and three-phase Bytewatt inverters. Confirm the exact inverter and permitted battery count; third-party compatibility is not established.
Backup wiring and commissioning
SourceBackup uses the inverter's dedicated connection and installer-provided protection. Specify the circuits supplied during an outage and include the required metering and commissioning.
Capacity and power
One BW-BAT-4.8S module stores 4.8 kWh nominally. The Australian battery and system datasheets give 4.6 kWh usable at 96% depth of discharge, while the currently linked V02 manual gives 4.5 kWh at 95%. Our summary follows the Australian datasheet; get the usable figure for the supplied hardware confirmed in writing.
The module's published 4.8 kW rating is not labelled continuous or peak and does not establish household AC output. For example, the compatible BW-INV-SPH5K inverter has a 5 kVA rated backup port, but that is an inverter rating, not a promise that one module will sustain it. Have the installer calculate output for the proposed battery count and operating conditions. We do not quote surge power because the system sheet supplies no duration.
Expansion needs the same care. The battery datasheet allows up to six modules in series; the matching single-phase system datasheet allows four. Do not plan a six-module installation until Bytewatt confirms the arrangement for your inverter.
Backup and installation
The manual names compatible Bytewatt single-phase and three-phase inverters. Backup runs through the selected inverter's wired backup connection. A battery purchase alone does not establish whole-home coverage or backup on all three phases; ask for a circuit plan and a check of simultaneous appliance loads.
Although the enclosure is IP65, the manual requires shelter and ventilation. It prohibits outdoor mounting in salt areas, defined as within 500 metres of the coast or places exposed to sea breeze. That can rule out a proposed external wall before capacity or price becomes the deciding factor.
Warranty and ownership
Bytewatt's A7 Australian/New Zealand warranty gives 4.8S ten years of product cover from first installation and a 70% usable-capacity promise. Solar self-consumption, time-of-use shifting and backup have unlimited cycles within that term. Other uses, including combinations containing an unlisted use, carry an 18.24 MWh aggregate-throughput operating limit, measured at what the warranty calls the battery AC output.
That limit can constrain performance cover before ten years; it is not extra cover after the time term. The document does not expressly say that reaching it ends the separate product warranty. It does not name VPP dispatch, so obtain written confirmation of how your proposed service is treated.
Compliant installation, ventilation and operation matter; the performance terms require ambient temperatures between −10°C and 50°C, alongside the manual's operating restrictions. Keep commissioning records and use the installer-led claim process. The separate November 2024 warranty update treats earlier purchases individually, so existing owners should confirm their applicable terms. Australian Consumer Law rights remain separate.
Brand and Australian support
Support evidence checked 21 September 2026. The Neovolt battery page, A7 warranty and Australian contact page are current routes. The contact page identifies Unit 24/195 Prospect Hwy, Seven Hills NSW 2147, +61 1300 901 706 / +61 2 8073 0561 and info@byte-watt.com; it does not state when the Australian operation began. These documents do not prove stock or installer capacity for this older 4.8S module; keep the exact A7 warranty and 2024 transition notice attached to the quote.
The A7 warranty is installer-led and gives named household uses unlimited cycles but an 18.24 MWh limit for other or combined uses. After Bytewatt validates a materials/workmanship defect, it may repair the unit onsite or at a service centre, or replace it with the closest current product; reasonable specification/size variation and refurbished parts are permitted. The installer must contact Bytewatt and submit the RMA; Bytewatt says it dispatches a replacement within three working days subject to availability, while the installer must return the faulty unit within 30 days or loses the service rebate. That rebate is conditional on a returned product being deemed defective, requires prior contact for multiple visits and must be claimed within three months. The warranty does not state a consumer fallback if the installer disappears, nor allocate accepted-claim removal/reinstallation, travel or return-freight costs beyond the conditional unspecified rebate. Australian Consumer Law rights remain separate.
We did not verify an Australian recall for the reviewed BW-BAT-4.8S module or its Bytewatt controller in the ACCC, CEC or Energy Safe Victoria registers checked on 21 September 2026. The ARENA/ITP test index does not identify 4.8S, and no model-specific owner/installer sample with a stated denominator was verified in targeted SolarQuotes/ProductReview searches. Before paying, reconcile the 4.8 kWh versus 4.5 kWh documents, exact inverter/module limit, current approval, servicing installer and warranty version.
Price and alternatives
The current Australian site still lists 4.8S documents, but that does not confirm stock or new-system availability. No manufacturer installed price was verified. Use the Neovolt Australia manufacturer enquiry to confirm supply and an installer contact, then request an itemised quote for the module, inverter, metering, backup work, commissioning and GST.
Model identity is especially important here. The CEC suspension effective 15 September 2026 names BW-BAT-9.6P and variants I–VI. It concerns nameplate and variant discrepancies; the CEC says it was not based on a recall or identified safety issue. Those models are ineligible for STCs while suspended. BW-BAT-4.8S is not named, but we have not verified its current approval. Have the installer substantiate any incentive against the exact model and current CEC list.
Compare a second complete-system quote with similar usable storage and the same backup circuits. If retaining your solar inverter matters, our sonnenBatterie Evo review covers an AC-coupled alternative. Compare the installation work as well as the battery price.
Who it suits
Start with your evening energy use and essential appliances, then ask whether one module meets that demand. Before signing, settle the usable-capacity discrepancy, inverter pairing, permitted expansion and current approval in the written proposal. For a VPP, confirm the provider accepts that exact combination in your location and that Bytewatt confirms its warranty treatment.
Check the model in your quote
Check that your quote names this exact model and configuration.
Reviewed configuration
BW-BAT-4.8S
4.6 kWh usable
AU datasheet figure for one module. The V02 manual instead gives 4.5 kWh usable; confirm the supplied specification.
Other models in the family
Specifications, warranty terms and installation requirements can differ between models. Check current availability with your supplier.
- BW-BAT-9.6P I9.1 kWh usable
- BW-BAT-9.6P9.6 kWh usable
- BW-BAT-9.6P II18.2 kWh usable
- BW-BAT-9.6P III27.3 kWh usable
- BW-BAT-9.6P IV36.4 kWh usable
- BW-BAT-9.6P V45.5 kWh usable
- BW-BAT-9.6P VI54.6 kWh usable
VPPs that list Neovolt BW-BAT
Compare programsThese programs list the battery family. Your exact battery, inverter and address still need approval; inclusion does not confirm warranty cover. How VPPs work.
All programs shown require an electricity account with the provider. If you already use that retailer, a switch may not be needed; a particular plan may still be required.
Compare the required electricity plan as well as VPP rewards. Credits are before electricity costs and any program fees.
3 family listings · Program A–Z
Amber
SmartShift
Listed: NSW · VIC · SA · ACT · QLD (Energex)
- Reward snapshot
Variable wholesale export earnings
Automation responds to market prices. There is no fixed export rate or guaranteed return.
- Program costs
$25/month membership
Setup fee unknown. No exit fee. Additional charges may apply.
GloBird Energy
ZEROHERO · VPP add-on
Listed: NSW · VIC · SA · QLD (Energex)
- Reward snapshot
Conditional daily and export credits
Daily credits depend on evening imports. Export rewards have separate windows and limits.
- Program costs
No membership, setup or exit fees
Origin Energy
Loop · Battery Lite
Listed: NSW · SA · VIC · QLD · ACT
- Reward snapshot
$1/kWh during VPP events
Dispatch limit: 200 kWh/year. The dispatch limit applies to Battery Lite event credits; Origin may change the rate with notice.
- Program costs
No Battery Lite exit fee
Membership fee unknown. Setup fee unknown. Incentive-linked terms can differ.
Reward snapshots — open the program for all credits, tariffs and conditions.