Skip to content

Origin Loop (Battery Lite)

Operated by Origin Energy

Origin's BYO option pays a $200 sign-up bonus and $1/kWh for energy taken during Loop events — capped by a 200 kWh yearly dispatch limit (so at most ~$200/yr) — on any Origin plan with no lock-in. Origin-installed battery variants carry 60-month terms.

Open to new customers
  • NSW
  • SA
  • VIC
  • QLD
  • ACT
Last checked 5 Sep 2026

At a glance

Signup
$200one-off
Ongoing
Not offered
Events
$1/kWhper kWh dispatched in eventsFor energy sent to the grid during Loop events; public Battery Lite offer currently states $1/kWh, bounded at ~$200/yr by the 200 kWh dispatch cap. The Battery Discharge Credit is GST-inclusive and Origin may change the rate with notice under Schedule 2. The sign-up bonus is once per lifetime — not paid to previous Loop members.
Dispatch cap
Control limit200 kWh/yrA limit on what the operator may take, not a payment
Costs
Unknown
Min reserve
20%
Retailer
Provider electricity account required

Compensation

Each component listed separately. One-off, per-period and per-kWh amounts are never added together.

Signup credit$200one-off

Paid once as a bill credit after your battery is connected and commissioned.

Ongoing creditNot offered

No ongoing credit forms part of this program.

Event payments$1/kWhper kWh dispatched in eventsFor energy sent to the grid during Loop events; public Battery Lite offer currently states $1/kWh, bounded at ~$200/yr by the 200 kWh dispatch cap. The Battery Discharge Credit is GST-inclusive and Origin may change the rate with notice under Schedule 2. The sign-up bonus is once per lifetime — not paid to previous Loop members.

Paid for each qualifying kWh under the program's event terms. Depending on the offer, that may cover exports, grid charging, or both.

Solar feed-inNot offered

The program adds no feed-in premium; exports are paid at the underlying plan's standard rate.

Other valueNot a cash amount
  • Your existing plan's feed-in tariff continues on ordinary solar exports

Costs & fees

Anything payable by you, shown in the cost treatment beside the credits above. Where nothing is charged we say so explicitly.

Membership feeUnknown

Not stated in the provider's published terms, so recorded as Unknown rather than zero.

Setup feeUnknown

Not stated in the provider's published terms, so recorded as Unknown rather than zero.

Exit feeNone

Not charged by this program.

Required plan

Any Origin residential plan — no plan change needed. No minimum term (leave on 20 business days' notice per Main Terms clause 10.1(a)); claiming the NSW battery incentive locks in a 3-year minimum, and Origin-installed-battery variants carry 60-month terms with pro-rata exit fees. The Origin Loop VPP Battery Terms and Conditions define an Early Termination Fee only for the Monthly Credit Offer (Schedule 3) and Origin Installed Battery + Upfront Discount Offer (Schedule 4); Schedule 2 (BYO/Battery Lite, this offer) has no termination clause or Early Termination Fee of its own, so termination follows the fee-free Main Terms clause 10.1(a). A current customer offer/Welcome Letter must confirm any other fees, retained tariff and event/feed-in treatment before a numerical comparison.

The underlying plan’s rates are not part of this comparison — compare them separately.

Requirements & lock-ins

What you agree to, and the limit on how much energy the operator may take.

Contract length
No minimum term
Electricity account & required plan
Provider electricity account requiredAny Origin residential plan — no plan change needed. No minimum term (leave on 20 business days' notice per Main Terms clause 10.1(a)); claiming the NSW battery incentive locks in a 3-year minimum, and Origin-installed-battery variants carry 60-month terms with pro-rata exit fees. The Origin Loop VPP Battery Terms and Conditions define an Early Termination Fee only for the Monthly Credit Offer (Schedule 3) and Origin Installed Battery + Upfront Discount Offer (Schedule 4); Schedule 2 (BYO/Battery Lite, this offer) has no termination clause or Early Termination Fee of its own, so termination follows the fee-free Main Terms clause 10.1(a). A current customer offer/Welcome Letter must confirm any other fees, retained tariff and event/feed-in treatment before a numerical comparison.
Minimum battery reserve
20% minimum battery reserve
Dispatch cap
Control limit200 kWh/yrThis is how much energy the operator may draw from your battery — not a payment, and not a cap on what you are paid.
Government incentives
  • NSW VPP Incentive
  • SA Retailer Energy Productivity Scheme

Listed because this program can be combined with the scheme — eligibility for the scheme itself is decided by the scheme, not the provider.

Compatible systems

Battery products the provider lists as supported. Some require a specific inverter pairing.

Origin publishes a closed list of eligible battery and inverter models for Battery Lite and says a battery absent from it is likely ineligible. The Battery Lite battery list also names 1KOMMA5, Ambrion, Energizer, ESY Sunhome, Eveready, FranklinWH, GivEnergy, Goanna, Hive, Neovolt, SAJ and SolaX, which are not in this catalogue. Eligibility is model-specific and the inverter must be listed too. AlphaESS is listed for Battery Lite in its own right; the separate partner offer is installed by Solar Battery Group. Minimums: 5 kWh battery, 5 kW operational solar, smart meter and reliable Wi-Fi; no life-support at the premises; can't be in another VPP.

Compatibility is an initial screen from the provider's published lists — final eligibility sits with the provider.

How control works

Who decides when your battery discharges, and what you keep a say over.

Who dispatches
Origin may remotely charge, discharge or hold the battery at any time and requires it to be controllable at least 90% of each month; it aims to leave about 20% charge (Powerwall 2 is guaranteed 20%) and never discharges during blackouts. No per-event opt-out on Battery Lite. The Origin app shows when and how much was discharged.
Mobile app
App control: Yes
Opting out
Opt out per event: No

Sources

Every figure above comes from these pages, each dated the day we last read it.