CovaU VPP (BYO battery)
Operated by CovaU Energy
CovaU's bring-your-own-battery VPP pays 15c/kWh for energy discharged during evening events, holds about 20% of your battery in reserve, and runs month-to-month with no exit fee. A bundled 3-year discounted-battery variant also exists (with a pro-rata early-termination fee).
- NSW
- VIC
At a glance
- Signup
- Not offered
- Ongoing
- Not offered
- Events
- 15c/kWhper kWh dispatched in eventsCurrent BYOB agreement: GST-inclusive bill credit for each kWh discharged during a VPP event, at 15c/kWh in NSW and VIC (also listed for QLD), for exports during 5pm–9pm. Events have no fixed schedule and may include grid charging; CovaU may adjust the rate/cap with advance notice and an opt-out path. This credit is separate from the underlying plan's feed-in tariff.
- Costs
- Unknown
- Min reserve
- 20%
- Retailer
- Provider electricity account required
Compensation
Each component listed separately. One-off, per-period and per-kWh amounts are never added together.
No signup credit forms part of this program.
No ongoing credit forms part of this program.
Paid for each qualifying kWh under the program's event terms. Depending on the offer, that may cover exports, grid charging, or both.
The program adds no feed-in premium; exports are paid at the underlying plan's standard rate.
- Outside VPP events, exports earn your normal plan feed-in tariff
Costs & fees
Anything payable by you, shown in the cost treatment beside the credits above. Where nothing is charged we say so explicitly.
Not stated in the provider's published terms, so recorded as Unknown rather than zero.
Not stated in the provider's published terms, so recorded as Unknown rather than zero.
Not charged by this program.
CovaU must be your electricity retailer while participating; credits apply to your CovaU bill and are not redeemable as cash The current public NSW Ausgrid Powerbreak table is partial evidence only: exact plan ID/effective date, full tariff and fees, GST treatment and the relationship between the retail 6–9pm feed-in offer and 5–9pm VPP event credit are unresolved. No complete bill comparison is enabled.
The underlying plan’s rates are not part of this comparison — compare them separately.
Requirements & lock-ins
What you agree to, and the limit on how much energy the operator may take.
- Contract length
- No minimum term
- Electricity account & required plan
- Provider electricity account requiredCovaU must be your electricity retailer while participating; credits apply to your CovaU bill and are not redeemable as cash The current public NSW Ausgrid Powerbreak table is partial evidence only: exact plan ID/effective date, full tariff and fees, GST treatment and the relationship between the retail 6–9pm feed-in offer and 5–9pm VPP event credit are unresolved. No complete bill comparison is enabled.
- Minimum battery reserve
- 20% minimum battery reserve
- Dispatch cap
- Unknown
- NSW VPP Incentive
Listed because this program can be combined with the scheme — eligibility for the scheme itself is decided by the scheme, not the provider.
Compatible systems
Battery products the provider lists as supported. Some require a specific inverter pairing.
Approved list also includes PotisEdge ALOE, Growatt APX/ALP (with paired Growatt hybrid inverters) and GREEN ESS models; unlisted batteries can be submitted for approval. Batteries bought through the bundled offer may only work with CovaU's VPP platform.
Compatibility is an initial screen from the provider's published lists — final eligibility sits with the provider.
How control works
Who decides when your battery discharges, and what you keep a say over.
- Who dispatches
- CovaU's platform may charge or discharge automatically at any time around events; events have no fixed schedule and may be notified by email/SMS. Deliberately overriding dispatch during an event breaches the agreement except for emergencies, personal safety or property risk. Full customer control outside events; the BYOB offer is month-to-month and can be ended with 30 days' notice without an early-termination fee.
- Mobile app
- App control: Yes
- Opting out
- Opt out per event: No
Sources
Every figure above comes from these pages, each dated the day we last read it.
- CovaU solar and battery planswww.covau.com.au/solar-batteryProgram pageChecked 6 Sep 2026
- CovaU VPP Services Agreement v1.4 (credit table, reserve, terms)www.covau.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2025/09/CovaU-Virtual-Power-Plant-Services-Agreement-v1.4.pdfTerms (PDF)Checked 6 Sep 2026
- CovaU FAQ: battery compatibilitywww.covau.com.au/docs/vpp/how-do-i-know-if-my-battery-is-compatible-with-covauus-vpp-programFactsheetChecked 5 Sep 2026
