Skip to content

AGL VPP

Operated by AGL

AGL advertises $200 upfront and $1/kWh for VPP charge/discharge, with a 250 kWh aggregate annual energy limit and no BYOB exit fee. Ongoing credit is advertised at $80/year, but SA help also lists $180/year; the customer Welcome Letter controls the amount. A separate bundled battery offer has different credits and terms.

Open to new customers
  • NSW
  • VIC
  • QLD
  • SA
Last checked 5 Sep 2026

At a glance

Signup
$200one-off
Ongoing
$80/yr · $80–$180/yr in SAIn SA: Conflicting published offers: general VPP page says $80/year; BYOB help lists SA $45/quarter ($180/year). These are advertised amounts, not a guaranteed range for a customer. The current Welcome Letter must confirm the applicable credit.
Events
$1/kWh · payment cap 250 kWh/yrper kWh dispatched in events$1/kWh advertised for event charge or discharge, with amounts controlled by the Welcome Letter. The contract limits charge and discharge to 250 kWh in aggregate per 12-month term. Holds are a control right but are not included in the numeric energy clause. Grid charging costs remain payable; ordinary feed-in credit stacking is not established.
Dispatch cap
Control limit250 kWh/yrA limit on what the operator may take, not a payment
Costs
Unknown
Min reserve
Unknown
Retailer
Provider electricity account required

Compensation

Each component listed separately. One-off, per-period and per-kWh amounts are never added together.

Signup credit$200one-off

Paid once as a bill credit after your battery is connected and commissioned.

Ongoing credit$80/yr · $80–$180/yr in SAIn SA: Conflicting published offers: general VPP page says $80/year; BYOB help lists SA $45/quarter ($180/year). These are advertised amounts, not a guaranteed range for a customer. The current Welcome Letter must confirm the applicable credit.

Applied as a bill credit for every period you stay in the program, whether or not events are called.

Event payments$1/kWh · payment cap 250 kWh/yrper kWh dispatched in events$1/kWh advertised for event charge or discharge, with amounts controlled by the Welcome Letter. The contract limits charge and discharge to 250 kWh in aggregate per 12-month term. Holds are a control right but are not included in the numeric energy clause. Grid charging costs remain payable; ordinary feed-in credit stacking is not established.

Paid for each qualifying kWh under the program's event terms. Depending on the offer, that may cover exports, grid charging, or both.

Solar feed-inNot offered

The program adds no feed-in premium; exports are paid at the underlying plan's standard rate.

Other valueNot a cash amount
  • VPP members can optionally take AGL's separate Battery Rewards plan: 28c/kWh on self-controlled battery exports 5–9pm (3c/kWh other times), uncapped

Costs & fees

Anything payable by you, shown in the cost treatment beside the credits above. Where nothing is charged we say so explicitly.

Membership feeUnknown

Not stated in the provider's published terms, so recorded as Unknown rather than zero.

Setup feeUnknown

Not stated in the provider's published terms, so recorded as Unknown rather than zero.

Exit feeNone

Not charged by this program.

Required plan

An AGL electricity plan is required and an existing customer may retain their plan. Exact VPP credits come from the Welcome Letter; SA published retention amounts conflict. BYOB has no exit fee. Grid charging remains billed at the retained retail rates, and event-credit/ordinary feed-in treatment needs confirmation. Setup or customer-specific fees must be checked; bundled offers have different terms.

The underlying plan’s rates are not part of this comparison — compare them separately.

Requirements & lock-ins

What you agree to, and the limit on how much energy the operator may take.

Contract length
12-month term
Electricity account & required plan
Provider electricity account requiredAn AGL electricity plan is required and an existing customer may retain their plan. Exact VPP credits come from the Welcome Letter; SA published retention amounts conflict. BYOB has no exit fee. Grid charging remains billed at the retained retail rates, and event-credit/ordinary feed-in treatment needs confirmation. Setup or customer-specific fees must be checked; bundled offers have different terms.
Minimum battery reserve
Unknown
Dispatch cap
Control limit250 kWh/yrThis is how much energy the operator may draw from your battery — not a payment, and not a cap on what you are paid.
Government incentives
  • NSW VPP Incentive
  • SA Retailer Energy Productivity Scheme
  • Federal Cheaper Home Batteries Program

Listed because this program can be combined with the scheme — eligibility for the scheme itself is decided by the scheme, not the provider.

Compatible systems

Battery products the provider lists as supported. Some require a specific inverter pairing.

LG RESU requires a SolarEdge inverter. One battery per address, site export limit of at least 5 kW, hardwired or Wi-Fi internet (SIM-only not accepted), dual-channel meter for AC-coupled installs.

Compatibility is an initial screen from the provider's published lists — final eligibility sits with the provider.

How control works

Who decides when your battery discharges, and what you keep a say over.

Who dispatches
AGL/Evergen may charge, discharge or hold the battery. The contract requires a maximum backup setting at or below 20%; its discharge protection refers to the applicable product-specific usable-energy-storage level, so a universal 20% floor is not assumed. Grid charge/export must be enabled, with fixed export at least 5 kW and an eligible smart meter. No per-event opt-out; leave with 30 days notice and no BYOB exit fee. The term renews every 12 months; government-credit rights from participation are assigned to AGL.
Mobile app
App control: Yes
Opting out
Opt out per event: No

Sources

Every figure above comes from these pages, each dated the day we last read it.