Skip to content

ActewAGL Battery Power Top-Up

Operated by ActewAGL

ActewAGL's BYO-battery VPP option pays a flat $240/yr in bill credits (plus a $100 sign-up bonus) with no per-event payments. Two sibling options exist — a purchase-linked Top-Up Bonus (+$80/yr for 3 years) and the Battery Saver plan (halved supply charge instead of credits) — and you can hold only one. NSW availability is ActewAGL's south-east footprint only.

Open to new customers
  • ACT
  • NSW
Last checked 5 Sep 2026

At a glance

Signup
Up to $100one-off$100 only for customers new to ActewAGL VPP in any capacity and registering this eligible battery for the first time; existing electricity customers may qualify.
Ongoing
$240/yr
Events
Not offered
Costs
Unknown
Min reserve
Unknown
Retailer
Provider electricity account required

Compensation

Each component listed separately. One-off, per-period and per-kWh amounts are never added together.

Signup creditUp to $100one-off$100 only for customers new to ActewAGL VPP in any capacity and registering this eligible battery for the first time; existing electricity customers may qualify.

Paid once as a bill credit after your battery is connected and commissioned.

Ongoing credit$240/yr

Applied as a bill credit for every period you stay in the program, whether or not events are called.

Event paymentsNot offered

No per-kWh dispatch payment is made — value is delivered through the credits above.

Solar feed-inNot offered

The program adds no feed-in premium; exports are paid at the underlying plan's standard rate.

Other valueNot a cash amount
  • Top-Up Bonus sibling option adds $80/yr for 3 years toward the battery price when bought through an approved Electrify with ActewAGL installer; the 1 July 2026 agreement says only one of Top-Up, Top-Up Bonus or Battery Saver may be accepted
  • Battery Saver plan sibling option swaps cash credits for a roughly halved supply charge and a higher feed-in tariff
  • Standard Top-Up credits accrue at 65.7534c per eligible day (approximately $240/year); the $100 signup credit requires first-time VPP participation and battery registration.

Costs & fees

Anything payable by you, shown in the cost treatment beside the credits above. Where nothing is charged we say so explicitly.

Membership feeUnknown

Not stated in the provider's published terms, so recorded as Unknown rather than zero.

Setup feeUnknown

Not stated in the provider's published terms, so recorded as Unknown rather than zero.

Exit feeNone

Not charged by this program.

Required plan

Must hold an ActewAGL Electricity Sale Contract for the supply address, with smart meter, eligible battery/inverter, grid-charge and export capability. Top-Up keeps the customer's existing rates and feed-in tariff; all battery operation energy charges remain payable under that contract. The provider estimates VPP bill impact at no more than $50/year incl. GST, but this estimate does not apply to demand-charge tariffs or battery modes other than self-consumption. Credits are GST inclusive, bill-only and not cash redeemable.

The underlying plan’s rates are not part of this comparison — compare them separately.

Requirements & lock-ins

What you agree to, and the limit on how much energy the operator may take.

Contract length
12-month term
Electricity account & required plan
Provider electricity account requiredMust hold an ActewAGL Electricity Sale Contract for the supply address, with smart meter, eligible battery/inverter, grid-charge and export capability. Top-Up keeps the customer's existing rates and feed-in tariff; all battery operation energy charges remain payable under that contract. The provider estimates VPP bill impact at no more than $50/year incl. GST, but this estimate does not apply to demand-charge tariffs or battery modes other than self-consumption. Credits are GST inclusive, bill-only and not cash redeemable.
Minimum battery reserve
Unknown
Dispatch cap
Unknown
Government incentives
  • Federal Cheaper Home Batteries Program

Listed because this program can be combined with the scheme — eligibility for the scheme itself is decided by the scheme, not the provider.

Compatible systems

Battery products the provider lists as supported. Some require a specific inverter pairing.

Also supports Sungrow SBH/SBP ranges. Both battery AND inverter must be on ActewAGL's compatibility list; one battery per address; site export limit of at least 5 kW; hardwired ethernet or Wi-Fi internet (mobile/SIM not acceptable as primary); AC-coupled installs need a dual-channel meter.

Compatibility is an initial screen from the provider's published lists — final eligibility sits with the provider.

How control works

Who decides when your battery discharges, and what you keep a say over.

Who dispatches
ActewAGL (via the Evergen platform) may charge, discharge or hold the battery at its absolute discretion; events can happen at any time, often during 7–9am and 5–8pm demand peaks. The battery must allow grid charging and export, and the maximum backup level must be at or below 20%. If the product has backup power, the agreement says ActewAGL will not allow a VPP discharge to reduce stored energy below the applicable usable-energy-storage level specified for that product; the exact level is product-specific. No dispatch app and no per-event opt-out. The Top-Up term is 12 months and auto-renews; termination requires at least 14 days' notice before the term end, or 30 days' written notice for convenience during the term. No exit fee applies to Top-Up. On renewal, ActewAGL may vary terms including credits, fees or charges with 30 days' notice. Government-credit rights arising from the services are assigned to ActewAGL.
Mobile app
App control: No
Opting out
Opt out per event: No

Sources

Every figure above comes from these pages, each dated the day we last read it.